Monday, March 30, 2020

Fancy a new, 17-minute Bob Dylan song about JFK’s assassination? | Music Ally

The question in the headline is likely to elicit some forthright answers – positive ones from Dylan’s fervent army of Bobcats superfans, possibly less so from other listeners. But yes, there’s a new (or at least unreleased) Bob Dylan track to hear today: “An unreleased song we recorded a while back that you might find interesting,” tweeted his website’s official account, adding a message to fans to “stay safe, stay observant and may God be with you”.

And ‘Murder Most Foul’ is, indeed, about the assassination of President John F. Kennnedy. It’s not just Dylan indulging his inner Beyoncé by surprising-dropping tracks this week though.

Nine Inch Nails have responded to what frontman Trent Rezor is calling “weird times indeed” by giving away a whole host of new music for free download. Following their 2008 album ‘Ghosts I-IV’, the band have made ‘Ghosts V: Together’ (consisting of eight tracks) and ‘Ghosts VI: Locusts’ (consisting of 15 tracks) available for free on their official site. They are also available on streaming services. Reznor and collaborator Atticus Ross worked round the clock in recent weeks to complete both albums. “Music has always had a way of making us feel a little less alone in the world… and hopefully it does for you, too,” they say on a statement on their site. “Remember, everyone is in this thing together and this too shall pass.”


Image by  Xavier Badosa (CC BY 2.0)

Stuart Dredge


No comments: