Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Americana Music Awards Nominations 2019: Women Take Center Stage [FULL LIST] | hypebot

AMERICANAThe Americana Music Association has named nominees for its 18th annual Americana Honors & Awards. Women dominated the 2019 nods with Brandi Carlisle Carlile, Rhiannon Giddens, Kacey Musgraves and Mavis Staples among the nominated.

The Americana nominations stand in sharp contrast to their counterparts in main stream country where women performers are still struggling to get their share of the spotlight.

The announcements were made live from the rehearsals of “Mavis & Friends: Celebrating 80 Years of Mavis Staples" which you can watch here. Previous Duo/Group of the Year winners The Milk Carton Kids and  Mavis Staples announced the nominees.

Full list of nominees for Americana Music Association’s 18th annual Americana Honors & Awards:

“To the Sunset,” Amanda Shires, Produced by Dave Cobb
“The Tree,” Lori McKenna, Produced by Dave Cobb
“The Tree of Forgiveness,” John Prine, Produced by Dave Cobb
“Walk Through Fire,” Yola, Produced by Dan Auerbach

Brandi Carlile
Rhiannon Giddens
Kacey Musgraves
Mavis Staples

I’m With Her
Our Native Daughters
Tedeschi Trucks Band
The War and Treaty

Jade Bird
J.S. Ondara
Erin Rae
The War and Treaty

Chris Eldridge
Eamon McLoughlin
Chris Powell
Michael Rinne

“By Degrees,” Mark Erelli, Rosanne Cash, Sheryl Crow, Lori McKenna, Anais Mitchell & Josh Ritter, Written by Mark Erelli
“Mockingbird,” Ruston Kelly, Written by Ruston Kelly
“People Get Old,” Lori McKenna, Written by Lori McKenna
“Summer’s End,” John Prine, Written by Pat McLaughlin and John Prine

The winners of each category will be announced during the Americana Honors & Awards on Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn. The celebrated program is the hallmark event of AMERICANAFEST®, which runs from Sept. 10-15, 2019.

Every year, the Americana Music Association honors distinguished members of the music community with six member-voted annual awards and with Lifetime Achievement Awards, which will be announced leading up to Americana music’s biggest night.

“I am thrilled that our membership has chosen to highlight such an incredible slate of talent,” said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association. “Each of these musicians has constantly pushed the creative envelope, as evidenced by their musical contributions from this past year. That said, it’s no surprise that these nominees and their art have resonated within our community.”

Described by Emmylou Harris as “the shining star of Nashville and music everywhere,” the Americana Honors & Awards has been broadcast in years past on CMT, Austin City Limits via PBS, AXS TV and via SiriusXM Radio, BBC2, WMOT, WRLT, WSM, Voice of America and NPR Music - with the awards show being the most-streamed music event on NPR Music for three consecutive years.

For almost two decades, the prestigious ceremony has celebrated pioneering mainstays and trailblazing newcomers, while featuring unforgettable moments in musical history including Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash's last live performance together, as well as offering show-stopping appearances by k.d. lang, Van Morrison, Bob Weir, George Strait, Don Henley, Bonnie Raitt, Gregg Allman, The Avett Brothers, Solomon Burke, Rosanne Cash, Civil Wars, Dr. John with Dan Auerbach, Patty Griffin, Levon Helm, Robert Plant and many more.

Tickets for the Americana Honors & Awards are currently only available for purchase by AMERICANAFEST® Conference Registrants.

For more information on the association or to purchase tickets for this year's Americana Honors & Awards and passes to AMERICANAFEST®, please visit


No comments: