Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Polaris Music Prize Short List 2018 | hypebot

image from www.hypebot.comTen albums have been named to the Polaris Music Prize short list for Canadian album of the year. “These 10 titles traverse language and culture and highlight the beauty and richness of Canada’s musical life in 2018,” said Polaris jury foreperson Katherine Duncan.

The winner will be announced at its annual gala on September 17th.  Each  shortlisted artists receive $3000 (CAD) and the winner gets $50,000.

Past winners have included Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

The full Polaris Music Prize 2018 short list:

Alvvays – Antisocialites

Jean-Michel Blais – Dans Ma Main

Daniel Caesar – Freudian

Jeremy Dutcher – Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa

Pierre Kwenders – MAKANDA At The End Of Space, The Beginning Of Time

Hubert Lenoir – Darlene

Partner – In Search Of Lost Time

Snotty Nose Rez Kids – The Average Savage

U.S. Girls – In A Poem Unlimited

Weaves – Wide Open


No comments: