Wednesday, April 26, 2017

#irespectmusic: House Judiciary Voting Today on HR 1695 the Register of Copyrights Selection and Accountability Act | MUSIC • TECHNOLOGY • POLICY

The House Committee on the Judiciary says the House will vote on HR 1695 today–the bipartisan Register of Copyrights Selection and Accountability Act.  If you haven’t already, call your House member today and ask them to vote YES on HR 1695!

“Today the House of Representatives will consider the bipartisan Register of Copyrights Selection and Accountability Act (H.R. 1695), which makes important changes to the selection process for the head of the U.S. Copyright Office, known as the Register of Copyrights.  The legislation — introduced by House Judiciary Committee Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.) and Ranking Member John Conyers, Jr. (D-Mich.) — enjoys the support of a broad coalition representing many vital sectors of the American economy.”

Here is a list of stakeholders supporting the bill:

21st Century Fox
Administrators of Gospel Music
Adobe Systems
American Association of Independent Music
American Black Film Festival
American Chemical Society
American Conservative Union
American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)
American Federation of Musicians
American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA)
American Photographic Artists
American Society of Media Photographers
Americans for Tax Reform
Artist Rights Society
Association of American Publishers (AAP)
Association of Independent Music Publishers
Association of Magazine Media
Authors Guild
Broadcast Music, Inc.
Center for Individual Freedom
Christian Music Trade Association
Church Music Publishers Association
Consumer Alliance for a Strong Economy
Content Creators Coalition
Copyright Alliance
Copyright Clearance Center
Council for Citizens Against Government Waste
Digital Media Licensing Association
Directors Guild of America (DGA)
Free State Foundation
Frontiers of Freedom
Future of Music Coalition
Getty Images
Global Music Rights
Gospel Music Association
Graphic Artists Guild
Heritage Foundation Scholars
Hispanic Technology & Telecommunications Partnership

Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA)
Independent Women’s Forum
Information Technology & Innovation Foundation (ITIF)
Intellectual Property Owners Association (IPO)
International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE)
International Center for Law & Economics
Marybeth Peters, Former Register of Copyrights, 1994-2010
Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA)
Nashville Songwriters Association International
National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
National Music Publishers’ Association (NMPA)
National Press Photographers Association
News Corp
News Media Alliance
North American Nature Photography Association
PLUS Coalition
Professional Photographers of America
Property Rights Alliance
Ralph Oman, Former Register of Copyrights, 1985-1993
Recording Academy
Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
RELX Group
Screen Actors Guild and the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (SAG-AFTRA)
Software and Information Industry Association (SIIA)
Sony Music Entertainment
Taxpayers Protection Alliance
Third Way
Universal Music Group
US Chamber of Commerce
Walt Disney Company
Warner Bros.
Warner Music Group


No comments: