Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Mute Song goes fully independent in the US in ‘essential next step’ for publisher | Music Business Worldwide

Mute Song, the sister independent publishing company of UK-born Mute, is growing up fast in the United States.

The company, home to the music of Nick Cave (pictured), Underworld, Max Richter, Jóhann Jóhannsson and Swans, is now operating independently in the USA and Canada.

After a long run with sub-publishers in the region, Mute Song has appointed Rough Trade Publishing USA to assist with administration of the catalogue.

Rough Trade associates Bank Robber Music will lend sync support as part of the arrangement.

Mute Song head David McGinnis told MBW: “Independence in North America is the essential next step in the growth and development of Mute Song. We are now direct members of BMI, ASCAP, SESAC and SOCAN which is exciting for us.

“Working with our administrative partners Rough Trade Publishing we now have complete visibility of our work registrations and the revenue our works generate in North America.

“This means faster and more accurate registrations, collections and distributions for our writers. Independence also allows us to work more closely with the long established Mute record label office in New York.”

“Independence in North America is the essential next step in the growth and development of Mute Song.”

David McGinnis, Mute Song

Established songwriters who have joined the Mute Song roster in 2018 include US rock’n’roll duo Jennifer Herrema & Neil Hagerty (Royal Trux, The Howling Hex, Black Bananas), as well as Tim Burgess of The Charlatans [UK] with his solo work and Conor Deasy, formerly of The Thrills.

Mute Song also represents electronic artists such as Hannah Peel, Visionist, Nik Void, Pessimist, Chris Liebing & Nicholas Bougaiff, and industrial duo Naked.

The firm’s classical roster now includes Scottish composer Francis Macdonald (Teenage Fanclub), Swedish composer Henrik Lindstrand and Brussels-based ensemble Echo Collective.

This roster is further rounded out by US born/Brussels-based composer and filmmaker Christina Vantzou, Australian singer/songwriter Carla dal Forno, French avant-garde composer Felicia Atkinson, experimental Swedish composer Klara Lewis, dream-pop artist Paper Dollhouse, jazz musician Robert Stillman, electronic improvisational artists Tomaga, ambient folk guitarist Gareth Dickson and post-hardcore artist Jamie Lenman (formerly of Reuben).

McGinnis said, ”We work with music we love and artists we relate to personally so we are very selective. We are thrilled that so many composers and artists we admire have put their faith in Mute Song.”

Mute Song founder Daniel Miller added, “We cannot talk about 2018 without remembering the passing of Jóhann Jóhannsson, an extraordinary composer and our dear friend.

“I am very proud of Mute Song, our team, our achievements and the unique creative home we have built for our remarkable composers and artists.”

The Mute Song-published album “Holiday Destination” by Nadine Shah this month won Best Album at the AIM Independent Music Awards in London, and been shortlisted for a 2018 Mercury Prize.Music Business Worldwide


No comments: